The Faculty of Physics


September, 4, 2017

21 August, 2017, the outstanding scientist Leonid Andreevich Pastura celebrated 80-th birthday. He is a Honorary Professor of V.N. Karazin Kharkiv National University, Academician of Ukrainian National Academy of Sciences, Laureate of State Prize of Ukraine in the field of science and technology.
We sincerely congratulate you with the Jubilee!
Dear Leonid Andreevich!
Thank you for Science! You are in the prime of your creative power. Let always your interests, your work will be connected with physical science, with education of new generations of physicists!
We wish you and your family good health, further creative success, happiness!
The staff of the School of Physics of V.N. Karazin Kharkiv National University.

October, 16, 2015

Our Greetings!

    Nikolay Vovk, 4th year student of the Theoretical Physics Department named after Academician I.M. Lifshits won the competition for Yurii Sapronov Kharkiv Municipal Charity Foundation Scholarship. The ceremony took place with the participation of the Head of the Foundation, Yurii Sapronov, Karazin University Vice-Presidents M.O. Azarenkov and Y.V. Kholin, faculty, and students.


November, 27, 2014

    November 21-26 2014 the 23 All-Ukrainian tournament of young physicists was held in Kharkiv on the basis of the regional specialized boarding school "Talent". The team "Angular momentum" from Kharkiv Lyceum 161 "Impulse" won the first place. Team coach is the Physical Faculty graduate 2006, Candidate of Physical and Mathematical Sciences, Associate Professor of Theoretical Physics Department named after Academician I.M. Lifshits, Zakhar Mayzelis.
   Congratulations Z.A.Mayzelis and his team to victory and wish them every success in the international tournament!
   Special thanks to the head of the laboratory demonstration of physical experiments of our faculty Boris Valiev for the preparatio n and conduct of the contest captains.

September 6, 2013


Doctor of Science, Professor, Head of Department of Physics
Anders Alexander G.
with awarding honors University of PY Safarik (Kosice, Slovakia) for his significant contribution to science in the field of low-dimensional magnetism

September 1, 2013

In the first year physics department enrolled 45 people for training in the field of "Physics" and 12 - in "Astronomy". Among first-year students

Nina Kvitka

Hromyuk Hilarion

Smerechuk Anastasiya

June 27, 2013

At June 16, 2013 75 year jubilee celebrated professor of theoretical physics Department named after Academician I.M. Lifshits A.M.Ermolaev. During 20 years Alexander Mikhaylovich was the head of Theoretical Physics Department, he trained many generations of well-known theoretical physicists. Kharkiv National University Rector V.S.Bakirov at the University Academic Council sincerely congratulated Alexander Mikhaylovich with the anniversary and awarded with the highest university award V.N.Karazin Medal.

June 18-22, 2013

Congratulations to the students 4 courses with passing the state exam in physics and education and qualification level "bachelor".

June 18-22, 2013

Welcome 5th year students of the successful defense of diploma and educational qualification level "master".

June 11, 2013

June 11, 2013 Department of Physics students met grade 6 Kharkov Lyceum number 89.

June 10, 2013


Doctor of physico-mathematical sciences, professor, head of the Department of Low Temperature Physics
Vovk Ruslan Vladimirovich
with the election of a corresponding member of the Transport Academy of Ukraine


May 27, 2013

On May 19, 2013 in May 24, 2013 there was a visit to the Institute of Physics, Faculty of Science University of P.Y. Safarik.

April 12, 2013

The 37-th annual Physicists Day was held on Friday 12 of April in V.N. Karazin Kharkiv National University

April 9-11, 2013

9-11 April 2013, Lutsk hosted the second round of the Ukrainian Student Olympiad in "Physics". The 5th year student Bozhko Andrii and 3rd year student Maistrenko Aleksii G. of the Faculty of Physics were awarded by the second degree diploma. These students were also awarded diploma for the best solutions of the problems of the theoretical physics.
Congratulations to the winners!

March 11, 2013

March 11, 2013 Teaching Practice for 5-th year Phys. Dept. Students begins. During four weeks MS students will take part in the educational process at the Phys. Dept under supervising of Dept Staff.

April 6, 2012

Welcome students II course Physics Department Maistrenko Alexey on winning the All-Ukrainian Olympiad in Theoretical Mechanics (second place) and wish continued success!


April 3, 2012

Congratulations to student IV year Physics Department Bozhko Andrey on winning the All-Ukrainian Olympiad in physics (first place) and wish continued success!